Five Bronco players in Queensland State of Origin team
Monday May 16, 2005

The form of several Brisbane Broncos players has seen them rewarded with Queensland State of Origin jerseys, and a chance to win back the series from the New South Wales 'Blues'. Darren Lockyer will again Captain the Maroons, with Shaun Berrigan, Petero Civoniceva, Tonie Carroll and giant Brad Thorn all being given starting honours.

All five Bronco players have been outstanding for their club, with Shaun Berrigan at the top of the NRL tryscorer's list, with eleven try's, and Brad Thorn with his relentless charges and offloads. Tonie Carroll has been very solid this year and played his best game against the Kiwi's in the ANZAC Test, while Petero Civoniceva has been having his best year, making numerous breaks and stopping several try's.

Darren Lockyer's form basically picks itself, leading the NRL with try-assists, Lockyer holds the key to the series, if he plays like he has been all season, and produces a big game in each Brisbane appearance, the Maroons will definetly be the winning side.

Overall, the side is extremely strong, especially when there is Matt Bowen and Carl Webb on the bench; injected into the game at the right time they can change the course of the match more than Craig Wing and Anthony Watmough can. New Queensland player Ty Williams will add another dimension to the Maroons game plan, as will Paul Bowman. It's sweet timing for the Cowboys players: Ty Williams, Matt Sing, Paul Bowman, Jonathon Thurston, Carl Webb and Matt Bowen being rewarded for their club efforts and the Cowboys great form of late.

This will be a cracker of a series and should make the 25th Anniversary of State of Origin all the more fitting. A team of mostly Queensland based players, who are on top of the compeitition, against a Blues team who are full of class and potential. QUEENSLANDER, QUEENSLANDER, QUEENSLANDER!!!

1. Billy Slater,
2. Ty Williams,
3. Shaun Berrigan,
4. Paul Bowman,
5. Matt Sing,
6. Darren Lockyer (c),
7. Johnathon Thurston,
8. Steve Price,
9. Cameron Smith,
10. Petero Civoniceva,
11. Brad Thorn,
12. Michael Crocker,
13. Tonie Carroll,
14. Ben Ross,
15. Carl Webb,
16. Chris Flannery, and
17. Matt Bowen.

General News
Also in this section
Related Items
� Copyright 2003. A Creatop Interactive Media and Virtual Leagues Production.
Powered by SmartSite. Hosted by MySmartHost